10 Things to do this summer

10 Things to do this Summer!

Hello Sunshine!

Its officially summer. The days have got increasingly longer and the temperature has got increasingly hotter! Whether you are going on your holidays or just having a chilled one at home here’s my top 10 things to do!

10 Things to do this summer

1.Have a BBQ!
I’m starting with this one as its going to be on everyone’s list and screams summer. Whether its tucking into a fabulous burger or grilling some spicy halloumi it has to be done! Go crazy and have whatever you want on the BBQ. I could eat BBQ every day when its hot! Also think about taking a BBQ with you somewhere like the park or a beach and change it up! Marshmallows on the BBQ are always a winner too, so make sure you have a pack just in case you can fit some more food in he-he!

 2. Buy a fabulous pair of sunglasses!
I’m obsessed with shades, so any excuse to purchase a new pair for summer is always seen as necessary in my eyes. You don’t have to splurge – so many high street stores like Primark, Topshop and River Island sell fabulous pairs. I manged to get 2 pairs of metallic aviators from H&M for under £20! — check them out HERE.

3. Go camping for the weekend!
Camping is so so fun. Grab a load of your mates, pitch up at a campsite and pay £10 for a night. Most campsites have nice facilities so you can have a nice shower and not feel too muddy/sticky. Take a load of your mates, grab a BBQ, cook loads of food and have a lovely time chilling out in the countryside! I really recommend the peak district for camping – there are so many great campsites there and you can then visit little towns and villages or even stop of at a country pub for Sunday lunch as you travel home!

4. Get stuck into a summer read!
There is nothing better than chilling out in the sunshine with a good book. I love to either take a couple of books on holiday to read by the pool or just to have and read on a deck chair in the back garden! I love a book that is easy to read and isn’t too heavy. I love the Lindsey Kelk ‘I heart’ series . They are about a girl who has a bit of a mid life crisis and moves to New York and her life changes forever! – such a girly read.

5. Get a manicure and pedicure!
For most of summer I live in flip flops, sandals, or wedges. I don’t want to worry about painting my toes just as I’m walking out the door. For about £40 you can get a great shellac manicure and pedicure that probably won’t chip for most of summer. These are perfect if you are going on holiday or just fancy treating yourself. I think i’m going to go aqua or coral this year as I always love to get some kind of neon inspired polish and look super summery!

6. Go the Seaside!
There is nothing better than a day at the seaside. I love playing in the arcades, walking along the beach, buying a stick of rock that you never eat and just taking in the sea air. I also love eating chips and ice cream. My local seaside in Essex is Frinton-on-Sea which is so beautiful and perfect for walks along looking at the beach huts. I also love Skegness for the childhood memories, and I have to recommend St Ive’s Porthminster beach in Cornwall as its my favourite place in the whole world.

7. Book a last minute getaway!
So you may have not booked to go away this year but you really fancy some sunshine and a pool so why not book the perfect week away! I always use Booking.com for a deal which always works out great. This year me and my fiancé are going to Portugal for a week in a 4 star hotel for only £700 flights and accommodation for both of us all in. I always think it sounds like such a fun idea to pack a case and just rock up to the airport and pick a flight to anywhere! You usually get cheap flights and then can book a last minute hotel when you arrive – has anyone done this? – let me know in the comments below! If you need any help with packing cosmetics with a small case then click HERE to read my guide!

8. Have an outdoor movie night!
Its always such a lovely thing to sit outside under blankets watching a film with a glass of wine. You can either take your laptop outside and snuggle up on bean bags and pillows, or get creative and get a projector and a white sheet and create your own little cinema in your garden. My favourite films to watch in the summer are Just Friends, Pitch Perfect, One Day, and The Hobbit.

9. Treat yourself to a bright lipstick!
There is nothing better in summer than flawless tanned skin and a bright lip. I love bright corals, peaches and neon pink shades for summer. If you head over to my Instagram I have recently posted my fave summer shades from Topshop beauty. My all time summer lipstick is the shade ‘Kiss Pop’ by clinique. Its such a pretty bright pink shade that works well on all skin tones.

10. Make sure you have a Pimms o’clock!
Whether its sat in a beer garden or at a summer party make sure you treat yourself to a big glass of Pimms. Its such a quintessential summer drink that must be drank with at least 2 types of fruit in it. I love to have raspberries, cucumber, mint, blueberries and strawberries in mine – and I also like it quite strong – only sad people water down Pimms! I always love to have a Pimms with my mum at home just sat on the back garden catching up. I’m also planning a summer wedding so I will definitely be needing a Pimms there too!

Whatever you do this summer I hope you have the best time and get to spend some time with your friends and family. Its also important to make time for yourself! Summer is the best time to relax and get some fresh air and much needed TLC for you so treat yourself to a few bits and feel fabulous!

Let me know what you are up to this summer either in the comments below – on Twitter or on Instagram!. Id love to know what you get up to, also you can keep up with what I am doing this summer too!

Lots of love

The Beauty Analyst x

 

 

photo credit: sky high art

13 thoughts on “10 Things to do this Summer!

  1. lucylovesbeautyxo says:

    Hope you’re enjoying summer! I love all these ideas… although won’t get me camping, I so wish I could but I get really aware that there are no locks on the tent haha. I’m all up for a mani, pedi and buying lipstick!! Xxxxx

    lucylovesbeautyxo.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment